Offshore Petroleum and Greenhouse Gas Storage Act 2006 (Section 616) COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA

PROHIBITION OF ENTRY INTO A SAFETY ZONE I, JEREMY PAUL WHITFIELD, Director of Energy, Northern Territory Department Of Regional Development, Primary Industry, Fisheries and Resources, of the said Territory by instrument of delegation 25 August 2008, and pursuant to section 616 of the above *Act*, hereby prohibit all vessels other than those operating on behalf of the ENI Blacktip Gas Project and vessels operated by authorised persons who are exercising powers under Part 6.6 Division 1 section 614 and 615 of the above *Act* and Australian Customs Vessels defined as Commonwealth Ships under the *Australian Customs Act 1901* from entering or remaining in the area of the safety zone without the consent in writing of the Designated Authority of the Joint Authority for the Offshore Area of the External Territory Of Ashmore and Cartier Islands. This safety zone extends to a distance of: five hundred meters, measured from:

Location (GDA94, zone 52)	Latitude 14° 14' 28.273" South
	Longitude 129° 21' 01.624" East

The Safety Zone remains in force until further notice.

Where an unauthorised vessel enters or remains in the safety zone specified in contravention of this instrument, the owner and the person in command or in charge of the vessel are each guilty of an offence against section 616 of the *Act* and are punishable, upon conviction, by a fine not exceeding 100,000 or imprisonment for a term not exceeding 10 years, or both, pursuant to section 616 (3) of the *Act*.

Dated 15th June, 2009.

Made under the *Offshore Petroleum and Greenhouse Gas Storage Act 2006* of the Commonwealth of Australia.

> J. P. WHITFIELD Department of Regional Development, Primary Industry, Fisheries and Resources