Gazette

Published by the Commonwealth of Australia

GOVERNMENT NOTICES



Notice: A575120

Commonwealth of Australia

OFFSHORE PETROLEUM AND GREENHOUSE GAS STORAGE ACT 2006

PROHIBITION OF ENTRY INTO A PETROLEUM SAFETY ZONE

I, Jeremy Dunster, a representative of the National Offshore Petroleum Safety and Environmental Management Authority [NOPSEMA], pursuant to section 616 of the *Offshore Petroleum and Greenhouse Gas Storage Act 2006*, hereby prohibit all vessels other than vessels under the control of the registered operator of Vincent Ngujima-Yin FPSO in the title area WA-28-L and vessels operated by authorised persons who are exercising powers under section 615(1) of Division 1 of Part 6.6 of the above Act from entering or being present in the area of the petroleum safety zone without the consent in writing of NOPSEMA.

This petroleum safety zone extends to a distance of 500 metres, measured from each point of the outer edge of the structure known as the Vincent Ngujima-Yin FPSO Submerged Turret Protection (STP) Mooring System (latitude 21°26′02.39″ South, longitude 114°04′01.38″ East*).

*Note: the above are GDA94 coordinates.

The petroleum safety zone will be valid from 13 October 2017 until revoked by notice published in the gazette.

Where an unauthorised vessel enters or remains in the safety zone specified in contravention of this notice, the owner and the person in command or in charge of the vessel are each guilty of an offence against Section 616 of the Act and are punishable, upon conviction, by imprisonment for a term:

- not exceeding 15 years if the breach is determined as intentional.
- not exceeding 12.5 years if the breach is determined as recklessness.
- not exceeding 10 years if the breach is determined as negligence.
- not exceeding 5 years if the breach is determined as an offence of strict liability.

REVOCATION OF A PETROLEUM SAFETY ZONE

The previous Notice A525405 dated 22 November 2016, which appeared in C2016G01515 of the Commonwealth of Australia Government Gazette on 24 November 2016, is revoked as at 13 October 2017.

Dated this 11th day of October 2017.

Made under the *Offshore Petroleum and Greenhouse Gas Storage Act 2006* of the Commonwealth of Australia.

Jeremy Dunster, Manager – Assessment & Inspection Pursuant to the Instrument of delegation dated 18 July 2016 National Offshore Petroleum Safety and Environmental Management Authority

National Offshore Petroleum Safety and Environmental Management Authority